Cheers Ya’ll

I’m not quite sure how it managed to sneak up on us. I’m pretty sure I blinked and all of a sudden it was here – the end of summer. Every year around Labor Day Weekend, I pack a suitcase and get the heck out of New York City, headed for Hilton Head Island by way of Savannah, Georgia. I look forward to it each one of the 365 days in between. There’s something about the slowness of things down there I just absolutely crave. I guess it’s because of how mind-numbingly fast we live up here.

One of the reasons I really wanted to start this blog in the first place was because I could take it with me on my travels. With that in mind, I did some research prior to take off and sourced the perfect brewery to pay a visit to while living the lowcountry life. They call themselves “South Carolina’s first brew pub since Prohibition,” and I knew I had to try some of their craft during my time on the island. On Tuesday evening we finally got over to Hilton Head Brewing Company and settled into their quaint brew pub that (while not in it’s current location) was established in 1994.

While we all ordered flights of our choosing, the bartender, Derrick, was uber patient with (all seven very loud women that was) us as well as helpful in suggesting favorites, explaining tastes, etc. My flight consisted of the Ol’ Man Porter, Crab Pilsner, Dunes IPA, and the Schroeder (A Weizenbock). Of all the ones I ordered, the Schroeder was my favorite; they described it as “having banana bread in a glass,” and I have to agree that’s exactly what I got with the banana notes and nice bready taste. I also really enjoyed their Fleck Ü, which reminded me of my hometown favorite, Yuengling Lager (You can take the girl out of PA, but you can’t take the PA out of the girl).

Unfortunately we couldn’t get ourselves out of the pool in time to make it to the brewery before tours were finished for the day, but they are offered daily, and I’d definitely make it a priority to go check one out if you’re ever on the island! Tours are $10 and include a pint at the end! They’re also kid friendly so the whole family can enjoy together! All in all our group had a wonderful time, enjoyed some excellent beers, and made a new local friend! If you’re looking to live an authentic HHI experience I’d strongly encourage you to get on over for a brew or two yourself!

Cheers Ya’ll!
-Kay

Hilton Head Brewing Company
1 Cardinal Road, Suite 13
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
843-715-3251

Leave a Reply

