So What’s a Dive?

Alright, so after perusing the interweb for a bit, I have come to realize that there are many people out and about with apparent ample free time on their hands. So much so that they are able to sit down at their Macbook Pros and post on their blogs, or hipster-y satire sites, about the current general usage of the term “dive.” To be honest, I don’t really think about the word that much. So if that offends you, maybe you should go kick rocks fold your laundry, or literally do anything else other than continue to read this post. Just saying; you’ve been warned.

K, now that that’s out of the way, lets get into it, shall we? Like I said, I don’t ponder too much about the technicalities, or lack there of, in the word “dive,” and what constitutes whether a bar is or isn’t one. To me, a dive is a pretty chill, bare-ish bones bar that has a minimal, but decent, selection of beers, and then mostly well (maybe mid-shelf) liquor. But you’re there for the beer. I’m not going to a dive for their cocktails; if you are, also stop reading now. This dive also harbors probably the tiniest, and most likely dirtiest, bathroom you’ve ever seen. Ladies; you’re hovering. DO. NOT. TOUCH. anything in there. Ew. Lastly, dives, to me, are usually very “neighborhood-y.” You live down the street, it’s the place you always meet up with your drug dealer group of friends, etc.

Now, I will admit that I might definitely call a lot of bars “dives” that technically are not. They’re probably what the fancy-pants bar snobs who freak out over the word usage would refer to as “taverns.” My bad, guys, my bad. So let me warn you now, If you’re one of those, I will almost certainly post about a cozy little exposed brick establishment that has a more than decent craft beer selection from time to time. Because, sue me, but I like those just as much as I love a good half-peeled-off-linoleum floor dive that reeks of stale piss barf. They still don’t enforce the 3+:1 girl to guy ratio upon entry, make you drop names to get in the door, or bounce what the kids these days refer to as “beats” by some high AF “DJ” playing around on his circa 2004 iPod. So to me, they are equally home.

But, to make sure we start off on the right foot, I’d like to dedicate today’s Bar Feature to a dive (it’s definitely a dive) that is very near (literally…it’s down the street from my apartment) and dear to my heart. Fellow Divers, I give you Local 138.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Beer Note: Anchor Brewing – Anchor Steam Beer

Local 138 has always been there for me when I needed to get drunk it most. From first dates (yep, I’m that girl), to catching up with old friends, to the “pre-game” of some of my craziest nights out, Local 138 is the perfect dive for just about any situation. Heck, I even know someone whose boyfriend proposed there (again, yes, I’m that girl who thinks that’s romantic).

If you’re looking for the perfect Happy Hour, Local 138 is your spot! You can grab a $3-4 draft (along with well drinks and wine) daily from 4-9pm. And I’m not talking about Bud Light, people; their tap boasts the likes of Blue Point, Sixpoint, Brooklyn Brewery, Harpoon, etc. Local 138 also has two sectioned-off booths in the front, perfect for making out with strangers larger groups, as well as a party room in the back that can be rented out for events. The rest of the bar is your typical dive – vinyl topped bar stools, linoleum flooring, graffiti filled bathrooms, you know; the works.

If you’ve never been, I highly recommend you grab some pals and make a trip to Ludlow St. to have a cold one for me. Let’s be real – I’ll probably be there already.

-Kay

Bar Note:
Local 138
138 Ludlow St.
New York, NY 10002

2 thoughts on “So What’s a Dive?

  1. Hey Kay! Cool little blog you started here. I came across you on IG and I thought I would check it out 🙂 I don’t see the chronic resting bitch face yet… I hope I never do, those are quite scary haha. Anyhow, beer and dives are my thing also. I live in San Francisco so we have plenty of both. A lot of great ones and a lot shady ones (which make them just as great). Cheers! Let’s grab one sometime if you are ever in town!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

